Shakespeare Saturday: Food!

Hey, y’all! Sorry this is a bit late. I went searching for a way to link to this podcast, and then I ended up reading a bunch of articles, and it all became a huge mess. At least as far as getting this post up on time is concerned.

It’s a bit of a cliche, but I definitely lose myself in online research. If I find something I’m interested in, I’ll keep clicking links until I realize I’ve been sitting there for six hours, reading nonstop. It’ll be a miracle if I don’t end up needing reading glasses in the next few years. It’d be better if I didn’t have a face that looks funny in glasses, but… meh. If I need them to read, I need them.

Anyway. I have a fascination with historical food. I can’t sew, it’s too hot to wear armor (I plan on doing an experiment to see if I can steam vegetables inside a suit of armor), my artwork looks like a kindergartener’s macaroni piece (and, let’s face it, those are always awful to anyone who isn’t that kid’s parent), and while I think I’d make a pretty decent carpenter or blacksmith… I don’t have the money for those. So I play around with food. I have to feed myself anyway, right? And historical food is fun. (My family has started buying me historical cookbooks. I have several Medieval/Renaissance from different areas, Ancient Rome, Colonial America, Regency and Victorian England, Moorish, etc.)

I also really love the Shakespeare Unlimited podcast presented by the Folger Shakespeare Library, so when I heard them talking about Shakespeare’s food, I knew I had to share it with you guys! Because… well… obviously!

So, check it out here and enjoy! Also, if you’re a podcast and/or a Shakespeare person like me, you should see about becoming a regular listener!

Also also, there’s a chance I’ll be stowing away on my family’s trip up to D.C. in August (why August? Well, mom’s a teacher, it’s summer, and D.C. in August isn’t any worse than FL in August), and if I do manage to sneak in, I’m going to make sure to visit the Folger Shakespeare Library in person (and, you know, the American History Museum). I’m tempted to pull a From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and just live inside the museum for a while.

OK… maybe I shouldn’t have announced that ahead of time.

Damn.

C

Leave a Reply

