Boozy Books: Perfect Little World

Hiiiii readers! Welcome to this week’s (on time) edition of Boozy Books! This week’s recommendation is brought to you by copious amounts of free time and lots of procrastination. Yup, I’ve been putting off important, necessary, responsible-adulty type things by reading. And this week I finished reading my February Book of the Month selection, Kevin Wilson’s Perfect Little World

Now, the reason I just now finished my February selection is not for lack of reading (I finished 4 books in the month of March, thankyouverymuch), but because catching up on my extensive “to be read” list took first priority. Of course, getting through my entire TBR list may never actually happen, but I’m certainly making a few dents… Well, anyway, I decided it was finally time to tackle my BOTM selections so I could catch up on the discussion/blog posts that connect readers through the company’s website. It’s quite cool, actually.

Perfect Little World was the unquestionable choice out of the February selections, because it sounded smart and quirky and not too intensely serious. Of course, several other February selections were quite intriguing (I also ordered Pachinko) and, all told, three more books were added to my TBR list. But Perfect Little World got the top slot, and I’m glad it did.

Perfect Little World is a rather fanciful imagining of a child development study that aims to explore the meaning of “it takes a village”. That’s, of course, a massive simplification of what goes on the book, but that ought to give you the general idea. 

Dr. Preston Grind has a theory about extended, unrelated families and the myriad of wonderful affects a large group of parents would have upon a group of kids raised together and treated as siblings. Luckily, with the help of an extremely wealthy donor he sets out to test his theories, building a compound to house The Infinite Family Project. He screens and chooses ten families, all expecting their first child, and invites them to join the project, living together in a loose sort of commune for ten years, the duration of the study.

I know what you’re thinking… “Holy shit. Ten families and ten kids?? That’s waaay too many characters to follow. Even George R.R. Martin would be confused.” OK, yes, that’s what I initially worried about, but Wilson focuses most of his narrative on Izzy, the only single parent and teen mom chosen for the project. She’s a wonderfully written character, her journey beautifully charted, and her flaws intact. That’s what I loved about this story most of all, Wilson’s ability to capture the flaws and setbacks of an idea that automatically seems too good to be true.

Now for the pairing! This book goes great with tequila and barbeque. Once you start reading, you’ll know why… 

Happy reading!

A

PS. If you use my Book of the Month link (below!) you get your first month/book for $1! That’s it. No shipping. No fees. $1 for one month and you can cancel anytime. Bam!

https://www.mybotm.com/a7xuv2hnmnimgqfr

Leave a Reply

