Silly Sunday: Silly Jane Eyre!

Heeeeyo, readers! Welcome to today’s edition of Silly Sunday!

As you know, I am in the midst of an epic Brontë-off. Three sisters enter! One sister leaves… knowing she’s the best writer of the three in the opinion of one random woman on the internet!

So, we’ve got Charlotte, the bitch! (If you don’t know why I’m calling her that, this week’s Monday Muse and Boozy Books explain very handily why I do not like this woman.) Emily, the fierce one who writes what I’m hoping is actually an over-the-top satire of obsessive romances! (Please God, let this be the case! If we’re meant to read Wuthering Heights as a straight romance… *shudder*) And we’ve got Anne, the one Charlotte fucked over because Anne made fun of her and Emily’s romantic hero! (The Tenant of Wildfell Hall does a great job of revealing the truth of Byronic heroes.)

This week, I am re-reading Jane Eyre. And also watching an adaptation (’06 to be precise). I’d already paired it, so I just shared the pairing again. Today, let’s have some silly Jane Eyre comics!

 

First up, a super romantic Rochester!

Lol.

 

The version I hope one day to write wherein Jane actually leaves Rochester and stays away because he’s a lying asshole:

Texts From Jane Eyre. Lol! I wish the St. John texts were on here too.

Taking the moment to tell you this one and the first one are from Kate Beaton’s Hark, A Vagrant. This one is even a copy from the actual book. Buy the book from her. Do it. The one above came from Vox.

A scanned Jane Eyre comic from Kate Beaton's Hark a Vagrant! 3 of 4

 

And, finally, for those of you not interested in reading the book at all, here is Lisa Brown’s three panel review!

JANE EYRE by Charlotte Brönte.

That’s it for me today! I’m on Shakespeare next week, but I’m back the following with Wuthering Heights. Good, news, Hark, a Vagrant covers that one, too.

C

Leave a Reply

