Boozy Books: Ready Player One

*Oops. This post was supposed to go up yesterday, but, between errands and a hangry boyfriend, it didn’t get put up. My bad. I apologize. Womp womp.

Hey, everyone! Welcome to this week’s edition of Boozy Books. My reading productivity levels have been skyrocketing since 2017 began and this week I’ll be pairing Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, which I finished a few days ago. This book has had a serious following since it came out in 2011, and understandably so. It is the epitome of geek, pop, and gaming culture, and will certainly find itself among those ranks in the future. Steven Spielberg is reportedly already on board for a movie slated for 2018. 

As our readers know, I have recently taken to audiobooks during my lengthy and aggravating commutes. Ready Player One was the first audiobook I probably enjoyed as much as I would have reading it on my own. This is all thanks to the incomparable Wil Wheaton. Thanks to his background as an actor he easily differentiated between characters and told the story with a great amount of realism that truly drew me in. I loved how all-out nerdy this book was. I loved understanding the references and relished the moments where I realized some stuff was going over my head. It’s so chockful of references that it can connect with pretty much anyone on some level. 

Wade Watts, aka Parzival, is a poor orphan who takes refuge in an online virtual reality simulation called The Oasis. Having grown up with next to nothing, being immersed in a non-existent world is more real and satisfying to him than anything else. The majority of the novel takes place in the year 2045, but we see glimpses of his rough childhood before The Hunt becomes his life obsession. The Hunt is a quest game within The Oasis left by its creator, James Halliday. After Halliday’s death, he leaves a series of clues leading to his Easter Egg and a grand prize of… his entire fortune. 

Wade and his online buddies – none of whom he’s ever met in person – take on IOI, a giant Corporation bent on destroying the Oasis by winning the game itself. I won’t tell you what happens next. You’ll just have to read it yourself. Trust me, you’ll love it. It’s a really fun, well told story that takes place in an all-too-easy to imagine future where evil conglomerate corporations are the enemy and the little guy gets a chance to win. 

For this week’s pairing I would like to suggest either Mike’s Hard Lemonade or some kind of hard soda. Why, you might ask? Well, what’s the easiest thing to drink while gaming? Generally, something in a bottle… and since Wade is eighteen I just think a hard soda is super appropriate. 

Cheers!

-A

Leave a Reply

