Boozy Books: The Martian Chronicles

Hi, everyone! I’m aware it’s not actually Friday anymore, but I’ve got a recommendation for you! As part of my “read at least two books a month” project, I read – would you believe it? – two books in the month of January. Actually two and a half, but getting sick kind of screwed me over and my show opening was distracting… But anyway. I did hit my actual goal and as a result I’ve got brand new Boozy Book pairings! Woooo! (Cause remember when C and I were saying how we were running out of material? Yeah, it’s time to replenish.)

SO! Today’s (er, yesterday’s) pairing is for Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles. As much as I love Bradbury I’ve never read it, and finding a new copy for $7 really solidified the decision to pick it up and dig in. With wine at the ready.

Now the interesting thing about The Martian Chronicles is that it’s a sci-fi novel from the 1950s set in the late 90s and 2000s so it kind of takes a minute to divorce the dates from the story since, y’know, we’re already well into Bradbury’s future. But setting the dates aside and focusing on the progression of the story and the overall arc is well worth the read. Especially since humanity’s retreat to Mars, as depicted in the novel, is something that reflects a lot of today’s qualms and disappointments with the state of the world as we know it.

The story is told in a series of vignettes that track the colonization of Mars and the eventual destruction of Earth. It aims to reveal the human psyche and the immense egotism that our race is generally capable of. When faced with an ancient,  wise, and advanced race the humans that invade the red planet are only concerned with recreating the planet they left behind. Learning from the established civilization or collaborating is never even an option. The Martians face a sad fate, but so do the humans… At their own hands no less.

So what should you drink with this sci-fi classic? Something red. I’d recommend a Cabernet, personally. The Martians actually drink purple wine, but we don’t have any of that as far as I know so just go with the Cab.

That’s all from me!!

Happy Friday (ummmm, well sort of).

-A

Leave a Reply

