Boozy Books: The Three Musketeers

Heyo, and welcome to the final Boozy Books of 2016.

Because 2016 is almost over.

Thank the gods.

In the spirit of unification, I thought I’d pull together the ultimate in “all for one, one for all”. Like, the book that started it all. I’m a believer in ‘e pluribus unum’ myself, and I think the ideas behind the Musketeers is something we need a bit more of. That brotherhood. The high ideals at work.

The big ass feathers in our hats.

Did I mention how much I love the menswear of this era? Clothes for women? Not so much. But the men, with their huge hats and boots and even, on occasion, an awesomely curly wig, high heels, and corsets… YES.

I think most of us know what The Three Musketeers is about. D’artagnan, a poor young noblemen, travels to Paris to join the Musketeers, an elite corps of fighters. On the way, however, his leader of recommendation is stolen and he cannot join immediately. He manages, despite not becoming a member, to befriend the three best, most formidable Musketeers of the age: Athos, Porthos, and Aramis. Together, they fight against the villainous Cardinal Richelieu and his henchman, the Comte de Rochefort, as well as the Milady de Winter. It doesn’t end as happily as most of the movies, of course, but that’s because there’s sequels!

Though I don’t much like how those end, either. Of course, that’s what happens when your least favorite character is actually the MAIN character.

Drink this with copious amounts of wine. French, of course, or Spanish if you’re a huge fan of Queen Anne. But don’t try to keep up with the Musketeers… you’ll fail. Badly.

That’s it from me! I hope everyone has an amazing new year and that 2017 isn’t such a nightmare!

C

Leave a Reply

