Boozy Books: The Stupidest Angel

Heyyyyy! Welcome to today’s Boozy Books. It’s me, C, standing in for A while she has amazing times singing like the amazing singer person she is. I’ll keep it brief because… well… I’m not done with my Christmas shopping and I’ve got to hype myself up.

mad-max-fury-road-nux-chroming
I live in SoFla. This is a normal Saturday.

So… let’s go.

Christopher Moore is one of my favorite novelists. To the point that I think I just chose books by him, like, last week. While Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal is my absolute favorite book of his ever written, I figure this time of the year is as good as any to feature Moore’s Christmas novel: The Stupidest Angel. Actually, fun fact: the eponymous angel appears in Lamb. And, yeah… he’s pretty damn stupid.

Have you ever wanted a Christmas zombie novel? Yes? Yes, of course you have. Why wouldn’t you want a Christmas zombie novel?

So. Raziel (the angel) is sent to earth to grant the wish of a child. He decides to help a boy who witnessed the death of a man dressed as Santa Claus. The town is getting ready for a big Christmas party near the cemetery. See where I’m going with this? Inept angel, cemetery, dead Santa… Oh yeah. ZOMBIE TIME!

It’s a funny novel. A bit of fluff for the holiday season, especially for those of you tired of all that feel-good nonsense. Christmas is brutal, man. You think I’m kidding about Mad Max. I am not. Someone tried to take a Christmas ornament out of my hand at Target. It was the last Finn (yes… Star Wars) and I wanted it, but apparently so did someone else. I won, though. It’s an adorable ornament.

So, if you want to drink something… go with a traditional Christmas punch. You know, the kind that’ll knock you on your ass after one cup and have you singing the Batman version of Jingle Bells at the top of your lungs while wearing mistletoe on your head. Or Egg Nog with a heavy dose of rum. Something Christmas-y.

C

Leave a Reply

