Monday Muse: On Writing Spaces

Heyo! Welcome to the Monday Muse. It’s C again, bringing you random thoughts hopefully shared in a cogent manner.

I recently moved into a smaller place for economic reasons. My boyfriend and I are trying to save up to buy our own place, so we decided this was the best way to accomplish our goal. In many respects, it’s fine and has worked out well.

Unfortunately, one of the few things I’ve really lost is a dedicated writing space.

It’s hard for me to complain because the boyfriend also lost his office and, really, in the grand scheme of things, it’s not that big of a deal. But… to me, personally, it’s devastating. And it’s seriously cut into my productivity. I haven’t contributed to anything besides this blog and Bill and Ben this month (all told, that’s about two days of writing). I manage to get out to places like Starbucks (which, where I live, constitutes just about the only place I can go), but I don’t work as well there as I did when I had a dedicated space for writing.

My table and chair are in storage now because there’s nowhere to put them in the new place. I’ve tried making it work, but whatever I do, it pales in comparison. There’s a tie between the work space and getting my brain into the right space to work. Which, of course, isn’t exactly news; different physical places correspond to different mental and psychological spaces. Every new room is a threshold. Having a table and chair set up with enough room to spread out and do my research is essential to writing. At least for me.

I mean, that’s not to say I couldn’t get a great deal of work done in other places. Up in Stratford, ON is a great little coffee shop (if you’re new to Cactus-landia, we’re going back up to Stratford at the end of August, so you’ll be hearing all about it) whose back porch is ideal for writing. Even though it’s technically in an alley, the whole thing is shaded by a glorious tree and is absolutely the sort of place it’d be easy to get into a writing mode. In fact, the whole town is beautiful and inspiring to a Floridian like me, with its gardens and old houses and swans. How much of that is the novelty, I don’t know, but I’m sure there’s just certain places with magic. Certain places that bridge the gap between our work selves and our creative selves. Places that awaken the stories within us.

I don’t know.

I’m going to try and find a way to make this work. I need to find a way to make this work. Not writing as much is driving me insane.

And if anyone has any pointers on how to deal in this circumstance… I would most dearly love to hear them.

I’ll be back on Friday with Boozy Books! One positive to all this is I’ve gotten a lot of reading done recently.

C

2 thoughts on “Monday Muse: On Writing Spaces

  1. I know exactly how you feel. I have a relative that’s chronically ill, needs 24/7 care, and wants to stay at home. I have a big family, most of which have some kind of medical training, so this is no big deal. We all take a shift with her. I get one day a week off of work, so that’s the day I spend with her. That’s also supposed to be my writing day. I do have plenty of time in between care giving, but I just can’t seem to get my mind in gear to write. I spend a lot of time at her kitchen table with my laptop typing nothing. It’s really annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Work spaces are super important, right? If you can’t find the right place, it’s super hard to get your brain in the “write every day” mode we really should be in to be productive. It’s like going to the gym; the first few times are awful and you hate it, but then it gets easier to go because it’s a habit (even though it’s still awful and I, at least, hate it). But being at the gym puts your brain into work-out mode, so it’s easier to build that habit. That’s my theory on why home exercise equipment is never used, at any rate. Thank you for your feedback! It is always much appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

