Boozy Books Friday: Comfort Round-up!

Friday. Ah, Friday. It’s here.

Unfortunately, my internet is not. I moved this week, and Comcast is being Comcast (re: dicks), so I’m using the other half’s mobile hotspot to log on and not go insane from lack of connectivity.

On the positive sign, I get to do a LOT of reading. The first thing I always unpack is the couple of boxes containing my most precious books; the books I turn to for comfort, reading again and again whenever I need, well, comforting. My world is in chaos right now — life is always chaotic when everything is in boxes — and I always use books to soothe the anxiety.

Given this combination of reading old favorites and not having a lot of internet, I thought this would be a great time to do a round-up of old entries. We’ve been around for over a year now, and most of you lovely readers have joined us within the last six months, or so. So…here with my ABSOLUTE FAVORITES, is Nerd Cactus’ first official round-up!

American Gods by Neil Gaiman: I’ve talked about this one before, probably enough that you don’t want to hear about it anymore, but this is the book that made me want to be an author… and that’s important. Also… you should read it before it becomes a show on Starz!

Persuasion by Jane Austen: “Oh God… is she talking about Austen again?!” Yeah, sorry. I did say this was a comfort read list. Most people would recommend Pride and Prejudice, but I like Persuasion better. Quite simply, it’s Austen’s best book.

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore: I haven’t talked about this one in a while, but it is, without doubt, one of the funniest books I have ever read in my entire life. Plenty of books make me giggle, but this one makes me laugh out loud. Fair warning: it also seems to attract Onion Ninjas.

The Thursday Next books by Jasper Fforde: One of the most imaginative series I’ve read in a long, long time. Probably ever. Ever dream you could go inside books? Well… this is as close as you’re going to get.

The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson: This one probably seems strange. It’s hardly a comforting series. But sometimes I find a great deal of comfort in epic worlds, complex plots and philosophies, characters you hate becoming the ones you love the most, etc. Erikson is a trained anthropologist and archaeologist… and that’s reflected in EVERY page of this amazing series. (Anomander Rake 4eva!)

The Peter Grant/Rivers of London Series by Ben Aaronovitch: A new favorite I often re-read for the main character. A London cop who finds out he’s a wizard and gets to investigate all the “weird stuff”. The best is how he reacts to it. And it really is such a refreshing voice; Peter is not a natural at the magic stuff, but he does have a great deal of heart.

And, last but certainly not least…

Middlemarch by George Eliot: The book I re-read once a year whether I want to, or not. Well… I always want to. I love it so much. You will, too.

So. A round-up of all my favorites. They’re all awesome and I think you should read them. I mean… would I lie?

(No. I wouldn’t.)

C

Leave a Reply

