Boozy Books: Anne of Green Gables

Well, ladies and gentlemen, we’ve reached another edition of Boozy Books, our favoritest feature of the week! Seriously…books and booze! How much cooler can it get?

Anyway. This morning, my friend over at The Scribble Bug reminded me of one of my favorite posts she’s ever done: a look at her favorite heroines and how they’ve affected her. I actually considered doing the book that inspired the post–How to be a Heroine by Samantha Ellis–but it’s such a personal thing, I wasn’t sure I could pick the proper drink. I would have picked a whiskey sour because it’s my go-to drink, but that’s not necessarily the right drink for the book, or for y’all, and I don’t want to do that. But it’s a good book and I wanted to capture some of its spirit.

So I turned to my own heroines.

Brief explanation: How to be a Heroine is about Samantha Ellis returning to the literary heroines that have defined her life at various periods and reexamining whether or not they hold up. It’s a memoir and a love letter to literature all in one, and I cannot recommend it enough.

I sat there and I looked through the characters–the heroines–that had defined my life. There weren’t as many as I thought, which surprised me, but I have always been so much harder on female characters than their male counterparts that it takes more for me to let them in. And there are some I love that end up disappointing; even the one I chose today ends up giving up what I loved so much about her. But it came down to either Beatrice or Anne Shirley for today, and Much Ado About Nothing is not, technically speaking, a book.

So…Anne of Green Gables it is. Or, I suppose, the entire series, though the latter books become as much of a disappointment to me as they became to Samantha Ellis. (Seriously, read that book.) Anne Shirley is a character whose imagination is endless, allowing her to escape her misery and make the world a better place. She is full of warmth and passion and kindness, though her innate romanticism can often get her in trouble. And, more, she turns that imagination into a passion for writing, which was the greatest thing ever. I loved the shit out of those books, guys.

And I just realized I never actually mentioned anything about what they’re about. I’m not good at this. The series follows the lives and happenings of Avonlea (for the most part), a village on Prince Edward Island, particularly those lives entwined within the world of Anne, an orphan who is (mistakenly) adopted by the Cuthberts of Green Gables. It is based upon the village of Cavendish, in which author L.M. Montgomery lived as a child. Anne, her best friend (her bosom friend) Diana, rival-turned-love Gilbert Blythe, the Cuthberts, and numerous other characters deal with life, love, fear, victories, defeats, etc. It really is a great slice-of-life of Victorian and Edwardian Canada (the series spans decades). But the most important part is undoubtedly Anne herself. And, though Montgomery makes the horrendous choice to “tame” Anne as she gets older, the true Anne will always be the girl worried about her red hair and slamming a slate onto Gilbert’s head.

But what to drink? What to drink?! It’s obvious to me: currant wine. Early on in Anne of Green Gables, Anne invites her “bosom friend” Diana over for tea while Marilla Cuthbert is out. She means to serve raspberry cordial, but instead gives Diana currant wine, which gets the poor girl drunk and causes Diana’s mother to end the friendship. (No worries on them coming back together; Anne’s too spunky for that.) In honor of that truly Anne-tastic moment (wow, I feel bad for typing that), I say we all lift a few glasses of currant wine in Anne’s honor!

So. That’s it for me today! A will be back tomorrow with the Shakespeare Shakedown. Until then, this has been me telling you what to drink!

C

Buy the book:

Anne of Green Gables

http://www.amazon.com/Anne-Green-Gables-Complete-8-Book/dp/0553609416/

How to be a Heroine

http://www.amazon.com/How-Be-Heroine-Learned-Reading/dp/1101872098

Buy (or make) the booze:

To buy-

https://vinoshipper.com/wines/strawbale_winery/black_currant_wine_1,668

OR, if you’re super into waiting six months, you can make your own-

https://foodfictionblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/anne-of-green-gables-currant-wine/

2 thoughts on “Boozy Books: Anne of Green Gables

Leave a Reply

