Boozy Books: A Christmas Carol

OK. Let me ‘splain… No, there is no time. Let me sum up.

I have had six hours’ sleep over the last couple of days. I am exhausted. My well runneth dry. My cup is empty. My eyelids are anchors, weighing heavy o’er bloodshot eyes. (From the lack of sleep and the many, many hours of cooking. Get your heads out of whatever weird, grimy place in which you’ve stored them.) But, dammit, I promised you a Boozy Books, so I’m giving it to you.

Also, Merry Christmas!

You will have been visited by four spirits by the time this book is over (five if you skipped the book and watched the Muppet version of the movie). At some point, you’ll stop being a dick and realize that Christmas is cool. Which is all well and good when you’re rich and can pay someone to do all the cooking. Oh my God, the cooking…

Why did I volunteer to make so much of Christmas dinner?

Anyway. Everyone knows the story of Ebenezer Scrooge. I mean… everyone. But not a lot of people take the time to read the actual story, and I’ve never understood that. What a lot of the movies fail to capture is the creepy, ominous nature of Dickens’ writing. So many versions of the screen play the thing as a kids’ story, and it really isn’t. But A Christmas Carol falls into that category of being a happy ending/supernatural romp about the spirit of Christmas, so of course it’s for kids. Hell, my favorite version *is* the Muppet version and that’s about as scary as the prospect of curling up under my blanket and sleeping as long as I damn well want to because, seriously, have I mentioned how tired I am?

(I am aware I have.)

Dickens was a bit of a rambler, I know. The irony of it all is it’s that rambliness that drives me nuts about him and here I am, the Queen of Rambling Blog entries. But I think Dickens is best where his story is somewhat limited, because he is forced to get to the point. And the great familiarity of the story allows Dickens’ words to really come to the forefront. If you really want to take a moment to focus on the power of good prose…this is definitely a story with which to do that.

Anyway…what do I think you should drink with this? My recommendation is Wassail, a good ol’ drink for a good ol’ town. Now, if you’re not cool with what is basically spiced apple cider (not the hard kind, either), a number of Wassail recipes call for a wine that heats well, like Madeira. I’ve heard of some people adding Brandy, too, but it really is up to you. Personally, I really am a fan of non-alcoholic cider, so I would actually omit the booze. But I’m weird that way.

Alternative: Since the weather seems to think it’s still summer, you could always go with a chilled bottle of hard cider, as well. There are a number of commercial brands available, so finding one to suit your taste should be really easy.

This has been Boozy Books! Forgive the (for me) terse nature of today’s entry. I think I actually fell asleep for a second there as I was typing this. I am…really tired. Tomorrow, we Shakespeare!

C

7 thoughts on “Boozy Books: A Christmas Carol

  1. I was going to say mulled wine. But I believe that’s what you said. 🍷 Cheers!
    I actually like this book and read it every year. I also watch the movie every year but have never seen the Muppets Christmas Carol. Huh. I’m feeling like I shouldn’t admit that for some reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg! It’s such pure joy! Michael Caine as Scrooge with Gonzo narrating as Dickens is the best! Not the most authentic version by any means, but there’s singing! Then again, I adore the Muppets so I’m biased!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

