Monday Muse: Presents!

Heya! Welcome to the Monday Muse, folks!

First off, today is December 7th. So…let us remember that day. You know, the one which will live in infamy? A lot of the valiant men and women who served in WW2 are leaving us; soon we will have no choice but to experience their stories through the written word or from the other side of the screen. If you can, please find someone who served–man or woman–and speak to them about their experiences. We’re running out of time to do so.

Also, couple of brief factoids which may be of interest to someone, or at least helpful during a future round of pub trivia:

  1. “A day which will live in infamy” was almost never spoken. In the original Pearl Harbor speech, FDR’s speech people had written “world history”; at the last moment, he crossed it out and put in “infamy”. If there’s one thing FDR was good at, it was speeches. Thanks for the flair, Franklin. Stop cheating on your wife.
  2. Bea Arthur was one of the very first women to join the US Marines. Who knew Deadpool really did have great taste in Golden Girls?

Anyway, brief history nerd blurb over. I can’t help it, guys. I try not to give too many lessons, but I really can’t help it. History is too cool not to share. If you don’t think history is cool, you don’t know history.

I actually wasn’t going to write about history, but then I remembered today is Pearl Harbor Day, so I couldn’t miss it. Captain America is staring at me over the top of my computer. A little Cap POP doll. It’s adorable. They’re all adorable. They’re also addicting. Which sometimes makes it impossible to find the right one for a person who buys them as they come out. (He knows who he is.) And for someone who loves to find the perfect present, it always feels like something of a cop out to buy a gift card.

Weird, I know. But my mom always taught me that buying a gift card was like admitting you didn’t know a person well enough to buy the thing they would buy with the card. And, apparently, moms have a way of setting up shop in your psyche forever. Even when my mind is telling me “It’s not a cop out, you fool! It’s allowing them the opportunity to get something they want OR something they need. It’s basically stuffing a twenty in someone’s pocket!” Mom is glaring at me. I can never win.

But I do love finding the perfect present! It’s the best feeling in the world, you know? Thinking about someone you love and finding something that they’ll love. It’s probably my favorite part of the holidays… along with the lights. I love the lights. Maybe I am part of the problem, you know? The commercialization of Christmas and whatnot? But I don’t think so. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting to get presents for the people you love. Hell, anything that makes people happy and is a product of love can’t be bad, even if it is commercialized.

Anyway, I know this is more rambly and less focused even than usual, and I’m sorry for that. Just like presents, I do try to find the right thing to write. I guess this week was a gift card week.

To make up for it, here’s the light show at Disney World.

C

Leave a Reply

