Shakespeare Saturday: A Shakesperiance!

We really have not been very good at updating this during November, man. Please forgive us. My other half is in yet another show (she’s the picture in the dictionary entry for ‘Working Actress’) and I’m slowly eating my insides away trying to finish this darn novel. Seriously… these characters seem to think I’m just a fancy highway. I HAVE FEELINGS, YOU…YOU…

Gah.

Now I have no idea how to finish this. I started it and I don’t know how to finish it. Part of me wishes I had a .GIF of Berowne from Stratford’s Love’s Labour’s Lost screaming “DICK!” at the top of his lungs. That would work perfectly. Man, now I need to check if that’s one of the plays they filmed, or if it made it into the trailer. It would be perfect for so many things.

Killing off characters is hard, guys. I mean, unless you’re JK Rowling or George RR Martin. Yes, I put them together. Both of them hurt my heart. I’ve never forgiven Ms. Rowling for Fred, and I never will.

YOU HEAR THAT, YOU MONSTER?! I NEVER WILL!

*cough* I need this month to be over. I need my characters to stop breaking my heart and stomping all over it with such malicious glee. Worst is they’re doing things that I did not tell them to do, so it’s hurting me AND it’s a surprise. There was no preparing for this. I am a hostage to my own characters. Yes, it’s a good thing, but it also makes it really hard to write. Honestly, this bottle of cider I’ve been saving for midnight on Dec 1st might not make it that long. I’m watching cartoons to make up for this. Dexter’s Laboratory and Hey Arnold!, folks. The Powerpuff Girls are next.

But none of this has anything to do with Shakespeare. Except, of course, that the characters in question are our own version of Shakespeare’s characters (which are, in turn, Shakespeare’s version of a lot of other peoples’ characters). But, anyway…

Here’s an article I came across while putzing around the internet in the hopes of not falling into the Pit of Despair (my favorite color is blue, the capital of Assyria was Nineveh, and…African or European?).

http://www.theguardian.com/stage/2015/nov/19/a-film-for-each-play-to-mark-400th-anniversary-of-shakespeares-death

Well, I don’t know about you, but I guess it’s time to sell a kidney. How much do those go for these days?

Anyway, that’s it. Apologies for missing yesterday; I didn’t catch it on time to fill in because I was, again, wallowing in character-driven despair. December will be better. We promise.

C

Leave a Reply

