Monday Muse: An Ode to the Greatest Beverage Ever

Hello, and greetings. No, wait…greetings and hello are the same thing. Hello. Is it me you’re looking for? No! Frack! What’s…

Welcome! There we go. Welcome, readers, to the Monday Muse!

Please excuse last week’s abysmal performance. Sure, we batted .500, which I am told is a damn good batting average, but we’re all about being professional amateurs here at Nerd Cactus and we dropped the ball. I wish I could say my excuse was half as good as A’s, who has rehearsals and auditions and dancing (oh my!), but alas…I cannot. I was reading. You know when you get really into a book and you don’t realize what time it is? I started at, like, 10pm intending to read a bit and blog after a couple chapters…and then I looked up and it was 4:30am, at which point I figured it was a bit late for Shakespeare.

And, to tell you the truth, unless y’all want to hear about our version of Benvolio, Mercutio, or Tybalt…I don’t know that I have any Shakespeare left to give. Maybe just a few of my favorite quotes. I could do that. Next time.

It’s NaNoWriMo, guys. I know most of you know what it is; I can tell that our audience is full of writerly types and literature lovers. Maybe there’s one lone lover of cacti who clicked follow by mistake (in which case: Hi! Please stay! We’re nice!), but I think I’m preaching to the choir when I say…guh. My brain hurts. Coincidentally enough, it is also churning out ideas left and right. I had a dream three nights ago that is totally going to end up being my first foray into psuedo-science-meets-Regency-style-romance (but set in the present). It’s like magical realism, but for parallel dimensions! YAY for dreams. (Also, thank you Michael Sheen for being the face of the male protagonist. Sorry my brain dragged you out of storage for this. Dreams are weird.)

But I’m rambling and I’m actually quite tired of typing. I just want to watch some IT Crowd and drink some tea. So I’m going to leave you with what my brain churned out at 5am last night (or, I guess, earlier tonight) when I was tired of Tybalt and needed to keep the momentum going. So I wrote a really bad haiku about coffee. Here it is:

The white of blown steam
Atop the burning darkness
Calms the cruel, cruel heat.

Yes. I took the lazy way out. No, not in writing the haiku. In posting it here. I’m tired. Please, please forgive me. And good writing to all of you doing NaNo.

I’ll be back on Friday with…something for you to drink.

C

Leave a Reply

