Silly Sunday: What is Silly about Taming?!

Greetings, readers, and welcome to Silly Sunday: Shakespeare Style! (I’m really into alliteration, guys.) Today is the day we find the light side of the internet. During Shakespeare-a-palooza, it’s the day we find the light side of the week’s chosen play.

One problem. This week’s play is The Taming of the Shrew. (I also, apparently, hate articles at the beginning of titles, since this is the first time I’ve used it…)

Why is this a problem? Did you not read yesterday’s and Friday’s posts? If not, please do so and come back. You’ll be much more informed, and probably entertained.

(You can finally answer his question!)

Anyway…given that the whole problem of this play is finding the humor and the silly amidst the abuse, I decided to forget the play entirely and move on to something else. But I don’t want to get too far out of the realm of this week’s theme, so I turned to the best adaptation ever: 10 Things I Hate About You. Remember Heath Ledger in that movie? You should. Because he’s great.

On the note of his greatness, to finish out this week’s Shrew-based revelry, I decided to remind you of just how awesome he was. So, ladies and gentlemen…enjoy the scene that raised the bar for song-based wooing forevermore!

*wipes tears away* God, I miss him…

Anyway! That’s it for today’s silliness! Tomorrow is the last Muse before Stratford! (SO EXCITED! I’m packing right after I click publish!)

C

Leave a Reply

