Monday Muse: Regarding The Comedies

Happy Monday, Cactus followers!
This week marks the beginning of our focus on a few of Shakespeare’s comedies. After Hamlet, our Stratford itinerary includes Love’s Labour’s Lost and The Taming of the Shrew, both comedies. I for one am not a huge fan of Shakespeare’s comedies. I have a certain fondness for Shrew because of its connection to Cole Porter’s Kiss Me, Kate, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream is my favorite overall, but I don’t find the rest particularly appealing (or funny). I’m hoping seeing Love’s Labour’s Lost on stage will bring the story to life for me (and I have every expectation that it will), but for now I tend to view the comedies kinda like this…

So join me on Friday when I give you the full run down on Love’s Labour’s Lost, its connection to Doctor Who, and its perfect alcoholic partner!

A

Leave a Reply

