The Monday Muse: Never a Dull Moment

Good evening, Cactus friends! Welcome to this week’s edition of The Monday Muse. Something important and wonderful has dawned on me… Being busy is awesome.

This week has been an endless stream of auditions, callbacks, gym trips, luncheons, dinners, shows, writing, errands, and learning (and it was my birthday). It sounds like a lot and, trust me, it is, but I’ve found that my energy and optimism skyrockets when I have weeks like this. I stay away from social media and find that I have less of a desire to eat unhealthy foods since my body is in a constant state of motion. I sleep well, I’m alert, and I don’t dwell on needless problems and fears.

Now, compare that to the last two weeks when I was essentially glued to the couch. Not that there’s anything wrong with a good Netflix binge (hello, Daredevil), but being unoccupied I was restless, listless, and moody because I had nothing to do.

Of course, we can’t always plan the busy weeks in advance and down time is a must, but I feel motivated to keep up the pace. I feel like I’ve legitimately beaten boredom and it’s pretty amazing.

You don’t have to go to the extent I’ve gone, but I challenge you to add a dose of “busy” to your life. Try making plans to see an old friend or take the dog on a jog. Start a new gym routine or learn to play an instrument! Just throw something new into your schedule to shake things up.

Seriously, you’ll be glad you did.

-A

Leave a Reply

